The main author of “The Declaration of Independence” is Thomas Jefferson. However, the drafting of the legal document was assigned to five officials. Apart from Jefferson, the other four are John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Roger Sherman, and Robert Livingstone.

Appointed by the Second Continental Congress, they formed the Committee of Five and worked from June to July on drafting the document. Each of them represented a different colony from the North American colonies. The Congress included representatives of the thirteen North American colonies that wanted to declare their independence from the British Empire, and it was formed during the American Revolutionary War.

The main author, Thomas Jefferson, was the representative of colonial Virginia in the Second Con…

Textul de mai sus este doar un extras. Numai membrii pot citi întregul conținut.

Obține acces la întregul eBook.

Ca membru al Liceunet.ro, beneficiezi de acces la întregul conținut.

Achiziționează un abonament acum

Deja membru? Log in